Back to the Blogosphere

I want to be a blogger.  I can’t really narrow the appeal down to one thing or the other… mostly I think I want an outlet to indirectly share my musings on the world and the way I think it works (or when it doesn’t, how it should). Got all of that?

This is “Blogging Attempt #126”; the initial intent of this blog title was to be sports-centric.  I posted a few things last year as therapy following a Super Bowl loss, and some hefty opinions about the lockout, too.  BUT now that I am employed by the Worldwide Leader in Sports, I don’t think that it would be appropriate to follow through with that on a daily basis.  While I assure you my (very strong) opinions on sports and associated topics will be woven throughout my posts, I also want to talk about the other things that make me who I am: God, pets, fashion, travel, retail, food, Disney, and awareness of social issues that may escape you or your loved ones.

Sound kind of like a roller coaster?

Good, because that’s exactly how it feels—but I wouldn’t have it any other way!  Enjoy the ride.

xo, J

*Should you care to read my thoughts in an abbreviated form, follow me on Twitter!

**If I’m new to you, here’s a little bloggy Q&A to help us get acquainted:

1. What did you do in 2011 that you’d never done before?

I took a six-week leave of absence from work to focus on my family and myself from a wellness perspective.  In addition to much-needed time at home, that six weeks gave me such great clarity.

2. Did you keep your new year’s resolutions, and will you make more for next year?

I was going to copy and paste the e-mail I sent to my best friend in hopes that she would keep me accountable.  Because she’s the best, though, she let me do my thing whether it was on the list or not and accepted me for every wise or unwise choice I made.

3. Did anyone close to you give birth?

Yes! One of my best friends and sorority sisters, Tesha, gave birth to a beautiful baby girl, Sophia Marie.  I am not a baby person (partially because of inexperience, partially because they kinda freak me out), but when I met her little angel, I fell. in. love.

4. What countries did you visit?

BOO.  None.  For the first time since 2001 I did not leave the country.

5. What would you like to have in 2012 that you lacked in 2011?

More balance and more sleep. More responsible fun.

6. What dates from 2011 will remain etched upon your memory, and why?

The Super Bowl.  Dallas was freezing, the Steelers lost, but it was still an incredible experience.

Little Angel had major surgery in May (just one of three in 2011); waiting rooms are devastating, I do not understand how parents keep their composure in any stressful situation.

A best friend got married in June, and the events leading up to the big day brought some beautiful people into my life.  Like my soul mate, Jessie.

My birthday, spent half working at Magic Kingdom, half wining and dining my way around Epcot with my girlfriends.

The day I left Florida for my adventure in the northeast.

My first day at my new job and the overwhelming feeling that I was in the absolute right place.

7. What was your biggest achievement of the year?

Big move and new job!  Finally understand why people complain about moving; it sucks.

8. What was your biggest failure?

Not being financially responsible in the least bit.

9. What was the best thing you bought?

I got a killer Tory Burch purse for 50% off… buttery red leather looks and feels extra awesome when it’s a steal!

10. Where did most of your money go?

Aforementioned pet surgeries.  Plane tickets.  Wine and food.

11. How did you spend Christmas?

Incredibly blessed to have gotten 6 days off to spend at home.  Friends, food, fun galore.

12. What was your favorite TV program?

PARENTHOOD.  HIMYM.

13. How would you describe your personal fashion concept in 2011?

All over the place, but totally me!  I realized that living in transient places, trends are what you make them.  I look different every day… not always good, but different and totally fun to do what I want instead of what society tells me!

14. What kept you sane?

Family.  Rooney.  South Carolina.

15. Tell us a valuable life lesson you learned in 2011.

Every day is a blessing.

One thought on “Back to the Blogosphere

  1. SO glad you are back! I can’t wait to read all you have to say. Maybe you will help get me motivated and join you in the good ole’ blogosphere!

Leave a Reply

